SSC JE Syllabus 2024

SSC JE Syllabus 2024, Know Paper I & Paper II Exam Pattern

SSC JE Syllabus 2024 is provided here to boost the preparation of candidates for SSC JE Exam 2024.You can check the SSC JE Syllabus 2024 with Exam Pattern Now.

SSC JE Syllabus 2024: Candidates need to gain a brief knowledge for the exam pattern in order to do well on the next SSC JE 2024 Exam. There are many topics covered in the SSC JE Syllabus 2024 and Exam Pattern, hence it is essential for all candidates to familiarize themselves with every topic that will be tested in the SSC JE Exam. There are two papers in the SSC Junior Engineering (SSC JE) Exam: Paper 1 and Paper 2. The Staff Selection Commission will shortly release the SSC JE Notification 2024 on ssc.nic.in. To help applicants prepare further, this page includes the SSC JE Syllabus 2024 along with the test format.

SSC JE Syllabus 2024

SSC JE Syllabus 2024

The SSC JE Syllabus 2024 and Exam Pattern tests candidates knowledge in engineering subjects at a level comparable to a Diploma in Engineering (Civil/Electrical/Mechanical) from a recognized Institute, Board, or University recognized by the All India Board of Technical Education. The SSC Exam Pattern has been revised for this year, and both SSC JE Paper 1 and Paper 2 will be conducted online, i.e., Computer Based Test (CBT). Below you can download the SSC JE Syllabus 2024 PDF.

SSC JE Syllabus 2024 Overview

The SSC JE Syllabus 2024 is available now, and candidates aspiring for Engineering Jobs can access the detailed syllabus to prepare effectively for the upcoming SSC JE Exam. The examination is conducted once a year at the national level in an online mode. Candidates can check a brief overview of the SSC JE Syllabus 2024 from the table given below:

SSC JE Syllabus 2024 Overview
Recruitment Authority Staff Selection Commission
Exam Name SSC Junior Engineer Exam (SSC JE)
Eligible Branches Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Quantity Surveying and Contracts
Frequency of Exam Once a Year
Category AE/JE Exams
Level of Exam National Level Exam
Application Mode Online
Exam Mode Online
SSC JE 2024 Notification Release To Be Notified
SSC JE 2024 Online Registration Dates To Be Notified
SS JE 2024 Selection Process Paper 1 & Paper 2: Computer-Based Test (CBT)
SSC JE  Syllabus 2024 Check Now
SSC JE 2024 Official Website ssc.nic.in

SSC JE Syllabus 2024 PDF

There are two components to the Staff Selection Commission’s SSC JE Exam: Paper 1 and Paper 2. Aspiring applicants should plan their study according to the official SSC JE Syllabus PDF, which is available on the recruitment authority’s website. The SSC JE Syllabus 2024 PDF is available below for applicants’ convenience. To make sure they cover all the topics and courses needed for the exam, candidates are encouraged to consult the official SSC JE Syllabus 2024 PDF. They will be better able to prepare and have a higher possibility of passing the SSC JE syllabus 2024 Exam thanks to this.

SSC JE Paper 1 Exam Pattern 2024

The SSC JE Exam Pattern 2024 for Paper 1 contains three sections, with a total of 200 objective questions carrying 200 marks. Candidates are allotted 2 hours to complete the examination. The sections cover General Intelligence & Reasoning, General Awareness, and General Engineering, with options from Civil & Structural, Electrical, or Mechanical disciplines.

SSC JE Paper 1 Exam Pattern 2024
Papers No. Of Questions Maximum Marks Duration
General Intelligence & Reasoning 50 50 2 Hrs.
General Awareness 50 50
Part –A General Engineering (Civil & Structural) OR 100 100
Part-B General Engineering (Electrical) OR 100 100
Part-C General Engineering (Mechanical) 100 100
Total 200 200

SSC JE Paper 2 Exam Pattern 2024

After clearing the cutoff for SSC JE syllabus 2024 Paper 1, candidates will proceed to appear for SSC JE Paper 2 2024. The SSC JE Paper 2 exam is conducted in a Computer-Based Test format and focuses solely on the technical subject chosen by the candidates based on their educational qualifications.

SSC JE Exam Pattern 2024 for Paper 2
Paper 2 Questions Marks Time
Part-A General Engineering (Civil & Structural) 100 300 2 Hrs.
OR
Part- B General Engineering (Electrical) 100 300 2 Hrs.
OR
Part-C General Engineering (Mechanical) 100 300 2 Hrs.

SSC JE Paper 1 Syllabus

The SSC JE Syllabus 2024 for Paper 1 contains three sections: General Intelligence & Reasoning, General Awareness, and General Engineering (Civil & Structural, Electrical, and Mechanical). The General Intelligence & Reasoning section covers topics like classification, analogy, coding-decoding, etc.

SSC JE Paper 1 Syllabus
Section Topics
General Intelligence & Reasoning Classification, Analogy, Coding-Decoding, Paper Folding Method, Matrix, Word Formation, Venn Diagram, Direction and Distance, Blood Relations, Series, Verbal reasoning, Non-Verbal Reasoning, Seating Arrangement, Puzzles & Seating Arrangement
General Awareness Static General Knowledge, Science, Current Affairs, Sports, Books and Authors, Important Schemes, Portfolios, People in the News, History, Culture, Geography, Economic, Awards and Honors
General Engineering (Civil & Structural), (Electrical & Mechanical)
  • Part-A: Civil Engineering – Building Materials, Surveying, Estimating, Soil Mechanics, Costing and Valuation, Concrete Technology, Irrigation Engineering, Steel Design, Theory of Structures, Hydraulics, RCC Design, Environmental Engineering, Transportation Engineering.
  • Part-B: Electrical Engineering – Basic concepts, Circuit law, AC Fundamentals, Magnetic Circuit, Electrical Machines, Utilization and Electrical Energy, Transmission and Distribution, Estimation and Costing, Basic Electronics, Generation, Fractional Kilowatt Motors and single-phase induction Motors, Measurement and Measuring instruments, Synchronous Machines.
  • Part-C: Mechanical Engineering – Theory of Machines and Machine Design, IC Engines Combustion, Air standard Cycles for IC Engines, IC Engine Performance, 1st Law of Thermodynamics, 2nd Law of Thermodynamics, Boilers, IC Engine Cooling & Lubrication, Classification, Rankine cycle of System, Specification, Engineering Mechanics and Strength of Materials, Centrifugal Pumps, Basic Principles & Classification of steel, Hydraulic Turbines, Dynamics of Ideal fluids, Fluid kinematics, Measurement of Fluid Pressure, Properties & Classification of Fluids,
  • Air Compressors & their cycles, Refrigeration cycles, Measurement of Flow rate, Fluid Statics, Nozzles & Steam Turbines, Principle of Refrigeration Plant, Fitting & Accessories

SSC JE Paper 2 Syllabus

The SSC JE Syllabus 2024 Paper 2 includes a brief explanation of topics under each part, as discussed in the General Engineering section of Paper I. It is important for candidates to thoroughly prepare for the specific engineering discipline they have selected to perform well in Tier 2 of the SSC JE exam.

Candidates have a duration of 2 hours to complete the Tier 2 exam. During the exam, candidates need to attempt any one of the following parts, based on their chosen engineering discipline:

  • Part-A: Civil Engineering & Structural Engineering
  • Part-B: Electrical Engineering
  • Part-C: Mechanical Engineering

SSC JE Tier 2 Syllabus 2024 for Civil Engineering

The SSC JE Tier 2 exam for Civil Engineering covers a wide range of topics relevant to the field. It includes Building Materials, Estimating, Costing, and Valuation, Surveying, Soil Mechanics, Hydraulics, Irrigation Engineering, Transportation Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Theory of Structures, Concrete Technology, RCC Design, and Steel Design. Candidates need to have a strong grasp of these subjects to excel in the Tier 2 examination.

SSC JE Tier 2 Syllabus 2024 for Civil Engineering
Subjects Topics
Building Materials Physical and Chemical properties, classification, standard tests, use, and manufacture/quarrying of materials e.g. building stones, silicate-based materials, cement (Portland), asbestos products, timber, and wood-based products, laminates, bituminous materials, paints, varnishes.
Estimating, Costing, and Valuation
  • Estimate, glossary of technical terms, analysis of rates, methods, and unit of measurement, Items of work – earthwork, Brickwork (Modular & Traditional bricks), RCC work, Shuttering, Timber work, Painting, Flooring, Plastering. Boundary wall, Brick building, Water Tank, Septic tank, Bar bending schedule,
  • Centre line method, Mid-section formula, Trapezoidal formula, Simpson’s rule. Cost estimate of Septic tank, flexible pavements, Tube well, isolates and combined footings, Steel Truss, Piles, and pile-caps. Valuation – Value and cost, scrap value, salvage value, assessed value, sinking fund, depreciation and obsolescence, methods of valuation.
Surveying
  • Principles of surveying, measurement of distance, chain surveying, working of the prismatic compass, compass traversing, bearings, local attraction, plane table surveying, theodolite traversing, adjustment of theodolite, Levelling,
  • Definition of terms used in leveling, contouring, curvature and refraction corrections, temporary and permanent adjustments of dumpy level, methods of contouring, use of a contour map, techo metric survey, curve setting, earthwork calculation, advanced surveying equipment.
Soil Mechanics
  • Origin of soil, phase diagram, Definitions-void ratio, porosity, degree of saturation, water content, the specific gravity of soil grains, unit weights, density index and interrelationship of different parameters, Grain size distribution curves and their uses. Index properties of soils,
  • Atterberg’s limits, ISI soil classification, and plasticity chart. Permeability of soil, coefficient of permeability, determination of coefficient of permeability, Unconfined and confined aquifers, effective stress, quick sand, consolidation of soils, Principles of consolidation,
  • degree of consolidation, pre-consolidation pressure, normally consolidated soil, e-log p curve, computation of ultimate settlement. Shear strength of soils, direct shear test, Vane shear test, Triaxial test. Soil compaction, Laboratory compaction test, Maximum dry density, and optimum moisture content, earth pressure theories, active and passive earth pressures, Bearing capacity of soils, plate load test, and standard penetration test.
Hydraulics Fluid properties, hydrostatics, measurements of flow, Bernoulli’s theorem and its application, flow through pipes, flow in open channels, weirs, flumes, spillways, pumps, and turbines.
Irrigation Engineering
  • Definition, necessity, benefits, effects of irrigation, types, and methods of irrigation, Hydrology – Measurement of rainfall, run-off coefficient, rain gauge, losses from precipitation – evaporation, infiltration, etc. Water requirement of crops, duty, delta and base period, Kharif and Rabi Crops, Command area,
  • Time factor, Crop ratio, Overlap allowance, Irrigation efficiencies. Different types of canals, types of canal irrigation, and loss of water in canals. Canal lining – types and advantages. Shallow and deep to wells, the yield from a well. Weir and barrage, Failure of weirs and permeable foundation, Slit, and Scour, Kennedy’s theory of critical velocity.
  • Lacey’s theory of uniform flow. Definition of flood, causes, and effects, methods of flood control, waterlogging, preventive measure. Land reclamation, Characteristics affecting the fertility of soils, purposes, methods, description of the land, and reclamation processes. Major irrigation projects in India.
Transportation Engineering Highway Engineering – cross-sectional elements, geometric design, types of pavements, pavement materials – aggregates and bitumen, different tests, Design of flexible and rigid pavements – Water Bound Macadam (WBM) and Wet Mix Macadam (WMM), Gravel Road, Bituminous construction, Rigid pavement joint, pavement maintenance, Highway drainage, Railway Engineering- Components

SSC JE Tier 2 Syllabus 2024 for Electrical Engineering

Electrical engineering is one among the fields that is covered in great detail in the SSC JE Tier 2 Syllabus 2024. This course covers a variety of topics, such as basic concepts, circuit law, magnetic circuits, AC fundamentals, measurement and measuring tools, electrical machines, fractional kilowatt motors, single phase induction motors, synchronous machines, generation, transmission, and distribution, estimation and costing, using electrical energy, and basic electronics.

SSC JE Tier 2 Syllabus 2024 for Electrical Engineering
Subjects Topics
Basic Concepts Concepts of resistance, inductance, capacitance, and various factors affecting them. Concepts of current, voltage, power, energy, and their units.
Circuit law Kirchhoff’s law, Simple Circuit solution using network theorems.
Magnetic Circuit Concepts of flux, MMF, reluctance, Different kinds of magnetic materials, Magnetic calculations for conductors of different configurations e.g. straight, circular, solenoidal, etc. Electromagnetic induction, self, and mutual induction.
AC Fundamentals Instantaneous, peak, R.M.S. and average values of alternating waves, Representation of sinusoidal wave form, simple series and parallel AC Circuits consisting of R.L. and C, Resonance, Tank Circuit. Poly Phase system – star and delta connection, 3 phase power, DC, and sinusoidal response of R-Land R-C circuit.
Measurement and measuring instruments Measurement of power (1 phase and 3 phase, both active and re-active) and energy, 2 wattmeter method of 3 phase power measurement. Measurement of frequency and phase angle. Ammeter and voltmeter (both moving oil and moving iron type), an extension of range wattmeter, Multimeters, Megger, Energy meter AC Bridges. Use of CRO, Signal Generator, CT, PT, and their uses. Earth Fault detection.
Electrical Machines (a) D.C. Machine – Construction, Basic Principles of D.C. motors and generators, their characteristics, speed control, and starting of D.C. Motors. Method of braking motor, Losses, and efficiency of D.C. Machines. (b) 1-phase and 3-phase transformers – Construction, Principles of operation, equivalent circuit, voltage regulation, O.C., and S.C. Tests, Losses, and efficiency. Effect of voltage, frequency, and waveform on losses. Parallel operation of 1-phase/3 phase transformers. Auto transformers. (c) 3-phase induction motors, rotating magnetic field, the principle of operation, equivalent circuit, torque-speed characteristics, starting and speed control of 3-phase induction motors. Methods of braking, the effect of voltage and frequency variation on torque speed characteristics.
Fractional Kilowatt Motors and Single Phase Induction Motors Characteristics and applications.
Synchronous Machines Generation of 3-phase E.M.F. armature reaction, voltage regulation, parallel operation of two alternators, synchronizing, and control of active and reactive power. Starting and applications of synchronous motors.
Generation, Transmission, and Distribution Different types of power stations, Load factor, diversity factor, demand factor, cost of generation, and interconnection of power stations. Power factor improvement, various types of tariffs, types of faults, and short circuit current for symmetrical faults. Switchgears – rating of circuit breakers, Principles of arc extinction by oil and air, H.R.C. Fuses, Protection against earth leakage / over current, etc. Buchholtz relay, Merz-Price system of protection of generators & transformers, protection of feeders and bus bars. Lightning arresters, various transmission and distribution systems, comparison of conductor materials, and the efficiency of a different system. Cable – Different types of cables, cable ratings, and derating factors.
Estimation and costing Estimation of lighting scheme, electric installation of machines, and relevant IE rules. Earthing practices and IE Rules.
Utilization of Electrical Energy Illumination, Electric heating, Electric welding, Electroplating, Electric drives, and motors.
Basic Electronics Working of various electronic devices e.g. P N Junction diodes, Transistors (NPN and PNP type), BJT, and JFET. Simple circuits using these devices.

SSC JE Tier 2 Syllabus 2024 for Mechanical Engineering

The Mechanical Engineering SSC JE Tier 2 Syllabus 2024 covers a wide range of pertinent subjects. It covers topics such as the Rankine cycle of steam, air standard cycles for internal combustion engines, properties of pure substances, engineering mechanics and strength of materials, theory of machines and machine design, and first and second laws of thermodynamics.

SSC JE Tier 2 Syllabus 2024 for Mechanical Engineering
Subjects Topics
Theory of Machines and Machine Design Concept of a simple machine, Four bar linkage and link motion, Flywheels and fluctuation of energy, Power transmission by belts – V-belts and Flat belts, Clutches – Plate and Conical clutch, Gears – Type of gears, gear profile and gear ratio calculation, Governors – Principles and classification, Riveted joint, Cams, Bearings, Friction in collars and pivots.
Engineering Mechanics and Strength of Materials Equilibrium of Forces, Law of motion, Friction, Concepts of stress and strain, Elastic limit and elastic constants, Bending moments and shear force diagram, Stress in composite bars, Torsion of circular shafts, Buckling of columns – Euler’s and Rankin’s theories, Thin-walled pressure vessels.
Properties of Pure Substances p-v & P-T diagrams of pure substance like H2O, Introduction of steam table with respect to steam generation process; definition of saturation, wet & superheated status. Definition of dryness fraction of steam, the degree of superheat of steam. H-s chart of steam (Mollier’s Chart).
1st Law of Thermodynamics Definition of stored energy & internal energy, 1st Law of Thermodynamics of cyclic process, Non-Flow Energy Equation, Flow Energy & Definition of Enthalpy, Conditions for Steady State Steady Flow; Steady State Steady Flow Energy Equation.
2nd Law of Thermodynamics Definition of Sink, Source Reservoir of Heat, Heat Engine, Heat Pump & Refrigerator; Thermal Efficiency of Heat Engines & co-efficient of performance of Refrigerators, Kelvin – Planck & Clausius Statements of 2nd Law of Thermodynamics, Absolute or Thermodynamic Scale of temperature, Clausius Integral, Entropy, Entropy change calculation of ideal gas processes. Carnot Cycle & Carnot Efficiency, PMM-2; definition & its impossibility.
Air standard Cycles for IC engines Otto cycle; plot on P-V, T-S Planes; Thermal Efficiency, Diesel Cycle; Plot on P-V, T-S planes; Thermal efficiency. IC Engine Performance, IC Engine Combustion, IC Engine Cooling & Lubrication.
Rankine cycle of steam Simple Rankine cycle plot on P-V, T-S, h-s planes, Rankine cycle efficiency with & without pump work.
Boilers; Classification; Specification; Fittings & Accessories Fire Tube & Water Tube Boilers.
Air Compressors & their cycles Refrigeration cycles; Principle of a Refrigeration Plant; Nozzles & Steam Turbines
Properties & Classification of Fluid Ideal & real fluids, Newton’s law of viscosity, Newtonian and Non-Newtonian fluids, compressible and incompressible fluids.
Fluid Statics Pressure at a point.
Measurement of Fluid Pressure Manometers, U-tube, Inclined tube.
Fluid Kinematics Stream line, laminar & turbulent flow, external & internal flow, continuity equation.
Dynamics of ideal fluids Bernoulli’s equation, Total head; Velocity head; Pressure head; Application of Bernoulli’s equation.
Measurement of Flow rate Basic Principles Venturi Meter, Pilot tube, Orifice meter. Hydraulic Turbines: Classifications, Principles.
Centrifugal Pumps Classifications, Principles, Performance.
Production Engineering Classification of Steels: mild steel & alloy steel, Heat treatment of steel, Welding – Arc Welding, Gas Welding, Resistance Welding, Special Welding Techniques i.e. TIG, MIG, etc. (Brazing & Soldering), Welding Defects & Testing; NDT, Foundry & Casting – methods, defects, different casting processes, Forging, Extrusion, etc, Metal cutting principles, cutting tools, Basic Principles of machining with (i) Lathe (ii) Milling (iii) Drilling (iv) Shaping (v) Grinding, Machines, tools & manufacturing processes.