history-famous viceroys of india and theirs important works

history-famous viceroys of india

Lord Canning (1858–1862)—After the transfer of Government of India to the British Crown. Lord Canning was appointed the first Viceroy of India. He reorganized the whole administration and made it efficient and responsible. Indian Councils Act 1861 was passed during his time.
Lord Ripon (1880–1884)—He had to soft corner for the Indian people. He was responsible for the repeal of Vernacular Press Act. He got enacted the Factory Act to protect the town labourers. He organised the local government on more democratic lines.
history-famous viceroys of india
history-famous viceroys of india

Lord Curzon (1899–1905)—
The first partition of Bengal in 1905 was the chief event of his time. During his time Punjab Land Alienation Act was passed. By the Indian Universities Act (1904), he officialised the universities. He was the architect of the new North-West Frontier Policy whereby the relations with the N.W. Frontier Tribes and Afghanistan were sought to be improved. The British Government came to have a say in the Tibetan foreign policy.

Lord Minto (1905–1910)—
During his time Minto-Morley Act of 1909 was passed, which conceded separate electorates to the Muslims in the Legislatures.
history-famous viceroys of india

Lord Hardinge (1910–1916)—
The partition of Bengal was revoked; the capital was transferred from Calcutta to Delhi.

Lord Chelmsford (1916–1920)—
The chief events of his time were, Government of India Act 1919 (which introduced dyarchy in the provinces), Rowlatt Act, Martial Law; Non-cooperation movement launched under the leadership of Mahatma Gandhi; and the tragedy of Jalianwala Bagh.

Lord Irwin (1926–1931)—
The chief events of his time were : Simon Commission’s visit to India which was boycotted by the Indians, Indian National Congress passed resolution for complete independence–1929; Civil Disobedience Movement started; Gandhi’s historic Dandi March; Round Table Conference in London in 1930; Gandhi-Irwin Pact in 1931.
history-famous viceroys of india

Lord Willingdon (1931–1936)—
The main events of his time were : Second Round Table Conference in 1931; Communal Award 1932; Signing of Poona Pact; Third Round Table Conference in 1932; Government of India Act 1935 passed.

Lord Linlithgow (1936–1942)—
In the period of Linlithgow Government of India Act 1935 was enforced in provinces in 1937; Cripps Mission of India. (1942) and Quit India Movement.
history-famous viceroys of india

Lord Wavell (1942–1947)—
The chief events of his time were : Cabinet Mission Plan; Wavell Plan; end of World War II.

Lord Mountbatten—
Partition of India recommended; Indian Independence Act, 1947 and India was divided into two Dominions of India and Pakistan.
history-famous viceroys of india
Category: New Jobs